“Heavy Rain” by Mr Riddler

Riddle me this: A magician was boasting one day at how long he could hold his breath under water. His record was 6 minutes. A kid that was listening said, “that’s nothing, I can stay under water for 30 minutes using no types of equipment or air pockets!” The magician told the kid if he could do that, he’d give him $10,000. The kid did it and won the money. Can you figure out how?
The kid filled a glass of water and held it over his head for 30 minutes. Ah if only things would have been that easy for Ethan in Heavy Rain then he would have nothing to worry about. JASON!


What I Expected
I think I mentioned in a previous post that Ragdoll is a movie director right? Well not a Hollywood one yet but she does eat sleep and breath movies and in an endeavor to find games to play with her, I tend to go towards games that shoot to be cinematic…. Actually allow me to correct that. I tend to buy games that go for cinematic and do it WELL. Like the rest of America I heard about Heavy Rain which was supposed to revolutionize interactive story telling. which I don’t really have a problem with. I like playing Indigo Prophecy even if it was just for the sake of killing my character in as many ways as I could find. I downloaded the demo of Heavy Rain when it became available on the Play Station Network and low and behold I was bored to tears. Is this what I’m really to expect from a game that’s interactive story telling? It’s just going to be crap on a stick with a dramatic story? Oh well, Ragdoll likes dramas and they’re not too bad as long as they’re well written, so I bought it. However I didn’t have high expectations. I mean a game without action is Harvest Moon or Animal Crossing or half the shit that Nintendo kicks out.
What We Got
Heavy Rain is a game that’s great for a day where you have nothing to do. Heavy Rain is short but too short that it’s a waste of time this can run you anywhere between 10 – 15 hours to complete so it’s possible to beaten 1 sitting if you have nothing to do. It follows 4 central characters that are all beautifully rendered and display a wide  range of life-like features and emotions (unlike Silenced  Requiem.) The Voice Actors are all French though so so people say they feel it’s pretty bad. I, personally, had no problem with it.:
Ethan, the father, is in a death game with a Saw style serial killer to find and rescue his son Shaun from a watery death. The story seems to follow Ethan more than anyone else seeing as he’s probably the most relateable, suspenseful and dramatic character which honestly I think is the greatest thing this game can do. It’s not focusing solely on a cop where you go around shooting people 9 hours out of your 8hour daily shift and then slapping emotion in the side seat. It’s nice to see where a story is going to take precedence.
Next is Madison Paige, Journalist who is tracking the serial killer for her own personal gain. I’m not sure if that’s supposed to be some kind of social commentary on women or what, but yes she and the killer are the only ones that are motivated in this game to continue doing what they’re doing to get ahead in life or their career. Interesting, no?
Norman Jayden, FBI agent with a drug addiction that’s tracking the Serial Killer for the government. This is where the game really changes style to an investigative mystery and it’s rather interesting. Most memorable part of Jayden, and if you play the game you’ll agree with me, are his virtual reality glasses. I want a pair of those. That is what they should have designed Heavy Rain to play on!
Finally we have, Scott Shelby, my personal favorite, the worldly private eye that’s looking to track down the Serial killer to bring justice to the world and to put the victim’s families at ease. I supposed I just love how he’s this old guy with asthma but none the less he can still kick biker ass. Don’t believe me? Play the demo. The guy is serious business and he’s got a soft spot for people that are in serious trouble. That makes him pretty cool in my book.
These characters are actually pretty nice and you get to know Ethan very well in the beginning just because we’re forced to get him up, awake, dressed, cleaned, blah blah blah for an hour in the beginning. boring start but it does pick up rather nicely and by forcing you to spend time with the man in his daily routine it’s so much harder to get him to do certain things, like (SPOILER BUT IF YOU’VE SEEN THE TRAILER FOR THIS GAME THEN NOT REALLY) cut of his own freakin finger. (END SPOILER) The best art about the development of these characters in the story, however, is that anyone of them can be the killer. That’s right these characters that you know and love could very well be the man, or woman that’s kidnapped Ethan’s son Shaun The game will keep you guessing till the end, but according to a friend of mine really there’s only 1 or 2 of them that turn out to be the killer. It’s not going to change each time you play through the game. What the hell Sony? This games is pretty good so far and I know you didn’t run out of budget. What happened?
Heavy Rain is Cinematic. Yes it’s done this in a way that no other game can because it’s 95% movie and Quick Time Events. This is necessarily Bad. Quick Time Events when used correctly aren’t a bad thing.
Good Example: Quick Time Events in Indigo Prophecy are the entirety of the game play but still they aren’t blocking the entire cut scene in the back and the scene are still tense and the penalty for missing the buttons are comedic.
Bad Example: Quick Time Events from Spider-Man 3 the video game blocked all the action in the back meaning that now I’m forgetting about what’s actually going on in the game and just focusing on my controller and the buttons completely removing me from the game. 

Heavy Rain, thank god, is doing it right. the controls actually flow pretty well with the exception of a few times that your quick time button is hidden behind you character and you’re expected to have x-ray vision to see what it is but that’s OK because I’m sure it wasn’t the right button anyway. Another complaint about the controls is that it’s a little hard to tell what an action is going to do sometimes. A woman could be cry and there’s a half circle for me to use, but I’m not sure if half circle means my arm is going to half circle her into a loving hug or that I’m going to wind up a right hook and clock her back to her senses. At E3 they announced a re-release of Heavy Rain to incorporate the Move and this might help, but again I’m sure that moving my arms around can still be confused with swinging a fist around. It would have been a bit better if they could at least have a small description below the action like “hug” or “beat.” Perhaps in a sequel they will do that. oh yes and without spoiling anything in one of your endings it does hint towards there being a sequel…. and I’ll probably end up playing it.

Multiplayer
This game has no multiplayer but that doesn’t mean that you still can’t play it with friends. When Ragdoll and I played through, I was Ethan and Shelby and she was Madison and Jayden and it worked out pretty well. Again this game is like a movie, and as we know movies can get better when watched with other people. Or they can get worse. 

Conclusion
Heavy Rain is good. It’s fun. It’s got a great story and it makes you feel for the characters in a way that not many games do these days. The only thing that really is keeping me from marking this game as a BUY IT instead of a RENT IT is that it’s not a game that you’ll play over and over again. You COULD go back and play through to get every ending and see ever possible variation of the story, but odds are you won’t. You’ll play through once. say wow that was amazing and then shelve the game. If you do feel like you want to see everything or if this seems like you’re kind of game Defiantly BUY IT. It’s worth your money. Otherwise …
Overall Rating:

Warning Parents: There’s a shower scene with Madison Paige. She goes full nude in it.
Attention Lonely Guys that live in a Basement: There’s a shower scene with Madison Paige! She goes full nude in it!

Feel Free to leave me a comment down below and let me know what you think, if you enjoyed the game or what you want me to review next. I’ll pay attention. After all, you are my only reader.

Leave a Reply

  • var sc_project=5964655; var sc_invisible=1; var sc_security="7b0984a3";
    tumblr counter
