“The Social Network” by Ragdoll

Ah! The Social Network. Nothing screams more interesting a story to me than Facebook. Upon first hearing the title, I thought it was going to be an hour and a half of 8 friends around the country updating their relationship status and sharing vacation pictures that they assume everyone wants to see, and don’t make them look “whorey”. However, I was wrong. When I heard it was about the founder of the site, my interested stirred. When I heard there would be legendary conflict, interest peaked more. And after reading the college humor mock up of how douchey Mark Zuckerberg is, I had to see it. Plus, every reviewer online claimed it to be the best film of the decade. And what I have to say to that is…
Jesse Einsenberg. He was phenomenal! Easily the strongest performance on screen. He carried himself in his usual Zombieland way, but his character of Zuckerberg had an edgier jerk way about him that you loved to hate. He’s like that a-hole friend you have that is an a-hole, but he’s your a-hole.
Justin Timberlake as Sean Parker I found so good, it must be fattening; a pop star portraying the man that single-handedly started the wave of pirating music was just great. Timerlake’s performance was good, but not too much of a stretch beyond that. Yeah, he was working the likeable prick angle, but there didn’t seem to be any more depth to him other than the cool guy that also happens to be the devil’s advocate.
Andrew Garfield, or who I now only see as Spider-Man, didn’t exactly shake ground with me at first. I thought he was just running off lines and not putting very much emotion into it, but that changed in the second act. His character, which started off overly claim, became a broken mess of a man that nobody could resist empathizing over.

One of the highlights of the movie had to be the soundtrack. I bought it before the movie came out for the low, low price of $3 and haven’t regretted it since. It sounds a little like the Scott Pilgrim soundtrack and Nine Inch Nails (same composer). The digital, penny arcade sound works for the tone of the film, and even enhances some of the scene. My favorite in particular was the remixed “In the Hall of the Mountain King”.
The first act of the film felt a little slow in pace, but probably wont be noticed in repeat viewings. This isn’t really a complaint, just a statement.
However, I did have a hard time following the double lawsuit that was taking place. After a few minutes I made the connection, but at first I was lost. It should be much easier to follow, again through repeat viewings, but worth it since the story is told so brilliantly through narrative and two court cases.
How I feel about it now? Well, I didn’t think it was the Citizen Kane of social networking movies (when I thought about it again, it is), but I enjoyed it. It’s defiantly worth watching. The performances are terrific, the story is intriguing, everyone at the water cooler will be buzzing about it, and…well…it looks really cool. You get the same vibe watching this movie as you do walking into an upscale suit store. I don’t think this is the greatest film of the decade, but a tough contender for Inception.

Feel Free to leave me a comment down below and let me know what you think, if you enjoyed the review or what you want me to review next. I’ll pay attention. After all, you are my only reader.

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=riddler0a-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=B0044430H8&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr

Comments
One Response to ““The Social Network” by Ragdoll”
  1. Sk8rjwd says:

    Wow nice website and nice thorough post. Interesting.

Leave a Reply

  • var sc_project=5964655; var sc_invisible=1; var sc_security="7b0984a3";
    tumblr counter
