“Let Me In” by Ragdoll

Let me start off by saying I have no account for the Swedish movie. I didn’t expect much of the film except for it to be a crappy American remake. I hoped it would be good since I liked Cloverfield and I see the potential in up-an-coming director, Matt Reeves. But, I know how America likes to handle remakes and I wasn’t all that excited. Boy did I endure a shock.
All the actors were amazing; not a single sour pickle. And I never thought I would say this, but the child actors were the best performers on screen. Their romance, pain, anger, and fear were all believable. The sub characters didn’t have much complexity to them, but they still worked as believable people.
The use of the 70’s era music felt so right. It was like candy of my ears. The music substantially helped in establishing the setting.
I did appreciate how Gore wasn’t a focus for the film. Not to say that it didn’t exist, but when it did, it was used appropriately.

The cinematography plainly extravagant. Everything from the camera placement, long takes, setting, and actor placement had resemblance of Riddley Scott’s work ethic.

I originally feared for the pacing of Let Me In since the Swedish version drug itself on; but the pacing was terrific. It did ran a little slow in the middle, but for necessary story telling.
I believe the only beef I had with Let Me In is the CGI vampire girl. She was animated when doing cool supernatural movements that I don’t think any human actor could pull off, but it just pulled me out of the film. However, the practical facial effects on the actress, Chloe Moretz, were great.
In the end, I thought this was an amazing movie. I vouch an Oscar for Ms. Moretz for such an intense performance that was a little provocative. This is should beat out all serious vampire films (I’m talking to you, Twilight).
Rating:

Feel Free to leave me a comment down below and let me know what you think, if you enjoyed the review or what you want me to review next. I’ll pay attention. After all, you are my only reader.
Comments
5 Responses to ““Let Me In” by Ragdoll”
  1. Seb says:

    never heard of it tbh. doesn't look like my type of film though anyway :p

  2. I havent heard of it either but it looks really interesting and i liked the write up

  3. Sounds interesting. Now comes the fun part of actually finding the movie.

  4. MASS says:

    This was a remake of "let the right one in," right? was that a remake of a swedish film, then? I haven't seen this version, but a friend told me about a few of its scenes and it sounded very familiar

  5. glosey says:

    loved the swedish version

Leave a Reply

  • var sc_project=5964655; var sc_invisible=1; var sc_security="7b0984a3";
    tumblr counter
