“Buried” by Ragdoll

90 minutes in a box? How do you make a movie about that? I had to know. I didn’t expect much from this movie at first. I had heard good things about it, but that was all I had to go on. Other than that, I was looking forward to hearing Stephen Tobolowsky after learning from his podcast he had a role in the film (I’m a fan) and how you can tell a story from a box. After seeing it, all I have to say is awesome! Let me count the ways.
5) One of the greatest things about this movie is its subtlety. Not everything has to be spelled out for you. And the attention to detail is worth being praised.
4) The camera tricks were bad ass. In certain shots, the director manipulates the box to get a really cool shot. And the way the director used auxiliary lighting (glow stick, lighter, flashlight) to make the shots more interesting was highly effective.
3) The story telling is vivid. Ryan Reynolds recalls his past like he’s reading it from a journal. This movie would have definitely become annoying if the dialog was full of “ums” and “uhs”.
2) The sound design is amazing. What you hear outside the box and through the phone are what really create the universe of this movie.
1) The number one reason to watch this movie: Ryan Reynolds. His performance is this movie is one of his strongest to date (probably on par with The Nines). He can make you feel intense pain and sorrow I had no idea my emotions would range to in this movie when I was first seated.
The biggest down side to this movie was that it began to drag at the end of the first act. I knew the camera wasn’t going to venture outside of the box, but it began to feel overdone. This movie truly encompasses the Hitchcock style of film making that if you wont go see it for any of the top reasons listed above; go for the experimental curiosity and twist ending.
Rating:

Feel Free to leave me a comment down below and let me know what you think, if you enjoyed the review or what you want me to review next. I’ll pay attention. After all, you are my only reader.

Comments
5 Responses to ““Buried” by Ragdoll”
  1. Im currently doing a film project on alfred hitchcock, i mentioned this movie because it was very hitchcock inspired :)

  2. sounds interesting, its not a hollywood production is it?

  3. Eddie Nygma says:

    Technically no. It's an independent production but it did get official theatrical distribution. If you can find it in theaters.

Leave a Reply

  • var sc_project=5964655; var sc_invisible=1; var sc_security="7b0984a3";
    tumblr counter
