“Pickin’ and Grinnin’” by Ragdoll

Pickin’ and Grinnin’ was my first Austin film fest flick. I didn’t know what to expect of it, but stood in line since it physically the closest screening to me. By waiting in line, I gathered that the film followed two white guys in their thirties on the road to becoming country music stars (the lead actors were performing outside the theater for us. It was a nice touch). The title and poster art gave me the impression that this film was going to be stupid, and I don’t much care for country music, so I was preparing myself for disappointment…this turned out to be one of the best films I’ve seen all year.
Since it’s a movie about country music, I’m gonna start off by saying the music is great. I personally wouldn’t buy the soundtrack to the movie, but the music was very fitting in tone and theme to the film. The texture of the movie looks really good; no grain going insane. It looked like it was shot on film. The subtle gags were pulled off very well, like obviously doctored food labels. Things like that really embrace the low budget filmmaking. The dialogue was great with witty jokes. The cameos from talented, yet underrated actors are a handful. The villain is a comical jerk you love to hate. And the leads, Johnny Dowers and Garret Mathany, are one of the most lovable rag-tag duos you’ll ever see on the big screen.
I only have a few hang-ups about the film. One: occasionally a few scenes are too under lit. And two: the movie seriously drags after the fourth guest joins the group, but it’s only for a few minutes, picking up again after the fifth guest joins.
I honestly have to say that this is one of the best road trip movies I’ve ever seen; beating out some of the biggest mainstream hits like Harold and Kumar. If this movie doesn’t get distribution, the world will sadly miss one of the few memorable popcorn movies worth writing home about.

Rating:

Feel Free to leave me a comment down below and let me know what you think, if you enjoyed the review or what you want me to review next. I’ll pay attention. After all, you are my only reader.
Comments
4 Responses to ““Pickin’ and Grinnin’” by Ragdoll”
  1. i dunno im not a big fan of country…

  2. Lemmiwinks says:

    I like what you did with your blog.Followin !

  3. Sikori says:

    not a big fan of country. but am following :)

Leave a Reply

  • var sc_project=5964655; var sc_invisible=1; var sc_security="7b0984a3";
    tumblr counter
