“Brother’s Justice” by Ragdoll

In all honesty, I had no real expectations for this movie. I wanted to see High School, which was screening at the same time, but Dax Shepard was supposed to be in attendance of his movie. I thought it would be cool to see him up close, so I went to Brother’s Justice. I didn’t know anything about the movie other than Dax Shepard plays “himself” trying to branch over from comedy into an action star. I’m really glad I made the decision to see Brother’s Justice because I laughed so hard, it hurt.



The “documentary” portion of the movie is shot completely handheld with everyone using their real names. And because of this, I did get a little confused as to whether or not this film was real, but that didn’t really matter to me since it’s so incredibly funny. And the humor is very crude, slapstick, and mean-spirited, so it’s best to know this about the movie if any of these things are your hang ups. The editing is very strong, especially in the opening credits. It looks like it was made on no budget, creating a milestone for indi-comedy. There is depth to the characters that you wouldn’t expect in a movie like this. There are fun cameos from actors: Ashton Kutcher, Bradley Cooper, Tom Arnold, and David Koechner. There are a few scenes that have the indi-style B-roll where Dax looks off dramatically. I inferred it to be satirical and thought it worked for the film. I have never seen to many crotch shots in a public screening. And (one of my favorite parts) there’s a montage half way through the film with Dax and Nate (his best friend) playing an auto-tuned version of their previous conversation as background music.

Unfortunately, the biggest selling point of this movie will be the star power; completely overshadowing in marketing just how hilarious this movie is on its own. It is genuinely funny for its dialogue, slap stick, and Dax Shepard’s and Nate Tuck’s chemistry.
This truly is a movie of three guys that went, “Hey, wouldn’t it be fun to make a movie just for the hell of it?” What real filmmaking used to be all about.
Rating: 

Feel Free to leave me a comment down below and let me know what you think, if you enjoyed the review or what you want me to review next. I’ll pay attention. After all, you are my only reader.
Comments
3 Responses to ““Brother’s Justice” by Ragdoll”
  1. Green_Magix says:

    I always seem to like the movies that guy ends up in. Great info mate thanks!

  2. Max says:

    interesting, followed.

Leave a Reply

  • var sc_project=5964655; var sc_invisible=1; var sc_security="7b0984a3";
    tumblr counter
