“Sonic The Hedgehog 4 & Red Dead Redemption Undead Nightmare” by Mr Riddler

you can blame this on me being lazy and because I’m playing Quantum Theory right now and I’m so bored that I can’t bring myself to finish it. So here’s a DLC two-fer.

Riddle Me This: Three men go to spend the night at a hotel. They pay for a $30 dollar room, each giving $10 for their share. When they go to their room, however, the manager realizes that the room is on sale for $25, and gives $5 to the bagboy to return to the men. The bagboy goes to give back the five dollars, and when he does, the men take it, but give the bagboy $2 as a tip, thereby keeping one dollar each for themselves. However, one of the men is disturbed, remarking, “Hey, we each spent 9 dollars just now, since we got one back, which means $27 total, right? Plus the $2 we gave the bagboy, that’s only $29! Where’s the extra dollar?”

The Answer is that the man is obviously mistaken. They had paid $9 each which totals to $27 including the 2 dollars they have tipped the busboy. Then they have $1 each coming to a grand total of $30…. I was supposed to make a DLC stealing money from you comment on this but meh. good enough.

What I Expected
As I mentioned before I was the boy on the block that wasn’t like everyone else. I bought the Sega genesis when everyone was getting all gung ho about the SNES. Yes I did go other to my friend’s place to play the SNES whenever I got a chance but the Genesis is what I played when I sat around, sad and alone and locked into my bedroom with the soft glow of the television… That being said Sonic the Hedgehog also played a big part of my childhood. Thus is why I

What We Got
If you could take what’s great about the old Sega Genesis Sonic video games and roll it into 1 then you’d have the exact inverse of what we get with Sonic the Hedgehog 4. Sonic The Hedgehog 4 seriously took everything that was annoying or poorly designed about Sonic the Hedgehog 1 – 3 and turned it into a video game. They have to include the homing attack? fine. It’s something that’s new and makes the gameplay kind of interesting when using it to continue across the level. The chaos emerald levels were the worst possible choice and are just revamps of the seizure inducing levels from Sonic the Hedgehog 1. Not the fun one from Sonic 2. Not the interesting, 3D rush from Sonic 3. The motion sickness waiting to happen from Sonic 1. The game also suffers from a problem that was seen in Sonic Unleashed in which case you have to have the power of clairvoyance in some cases or else you’ll die. It’s near impossible to go through some acts without dying on your first run purely because you had no idea that you needed to jump there because you’re going too fast… or because the background looks like a platform. The game, graphically looks beautiful… Well for the first 2 levels it looks beautiful. After that the graphic designer took a holiday and the coding team got confused, so they just started copying and pasting the background into the foreground in an endeavor to confuse the hell out of me. Not that I can’t play Sonic games. I grew up on them for Christ’s sake so I can watch as the back and foregrounds zip past a lightning speed and keep up with the action, but not when the back and foreground are so similar that when I jump across a cavern I’m not sure what’s a platform and what’s the rocks in the background.

Oddly enough. There is no Multiplayer mode. Come on Sega… COME ON!

Conclusion:
I paid $14 for this. Do not make my mistake. WAIT. If you really want to play Sonic the Hedgehog 4 save your money. Buy it when it’s come out in 1 big completed bundle pack that’s actually a video game not this episodic bullcrap that’s made to bleed me and my bank account for ever last dollar that I have.

Overall Rating:

What I Expected:
I expected that this was a joke really. I noticed the poster for this on the /v/ forum of 4chan (If you don’t know what this is, don’t go searching for it. Trust me.) and I assumed that someone just made a cool photoshopped image just to troll everyone into thinking that something with a concept this cool could exist. It was only later that I even saw that it was for download. Anyway I got it for my Red Dead Redemption which if you saw my review for it before you’ll see that I loved, and I’m going to make time to sit down and kill some mother effin’ ZOMBIES.

What We Got:
Red Dead Redemption is the first Grand Theft Auto game where I’ve bothered to download Downloadable Content. Oh I’ve done it for other games, sure. Little Big Planet especially, but not a grand theft auto game. This is mostly because I hated Grand Theft Auto 4. Moving on, the concept that came along with Undead Nightmare is one that I couldn’t pass up. See I happen to like the old west, and I happen to like Zombies. So mixing them together seems like a great idea…. seems like. Don’t get me wrong I once saw a zombie western that was less than amazing. Much MUCH less than amazing. Any who, the story here is one that’s pretty good. if you finished the game then you’ll have a breath of fresh air to see everyone that you remember form the game being a family again. In Red Dead fashion however, you’re broken apart by a bite to the wife and son, so you’re off to find a cure for the zombie infection while running into old friends and acquittance’s on the way. On to the gameplay, the awesomely amazing gameplay. There are a few items added to the roster to  aid in zombie killing such as a torch to set them on fire with and Holy Water to douse them in. You also get a few neat toys like a Blunderbuss and Boom Bait. From what I can tell those these aren’t as much of an addition as they are added mechanics to make the new single player campaign WORK. The new single player makes an incredibly odd jump from GTA style missions set in the old west, to Survival Horror GTA style mission set in the old west. But it works. Bullets are made scarce and majority of the mission include killing the undead to keep cities and survivors safe. All new voice work and cutscenes are set up with the classic “What has man become in times of disaster” themes popping up from town to town. All animals are infected and even new mythical creatures and horses are available to hunt. I don’t want to spoil anything on that front but let’s just say I’ve already roped the Horse of War and damn is he fun.

 

Multiplayer:
The DLC doesn’t add too much in this category.  Like those that came before it, it adds costumes for online play, and a few new modes. One that would of course be about the infected and the other is more of an instance game were you can kill regular bandits…. What else do you want from me? I told you about the Multiplayer in my very first, insanely long winded review. go back and read that.

Conclusion:
All in all nothing really changes. This DLC does exactly what it’s intended to do. It adds onto the experience which was solid to begin with. and it’s relatively cheap compared to the steaming pile that you’re getting with Sonic 4.

Overall Rating:

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=riddler0a-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=B0044TD9HY&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=riddler0a-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=B004918C4M&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr
Feel Free to leave me a comment down below and let me know what you think, if you enjoyed the review or what you want me to review next. I’ll pay attention. After all, you are my only reader.

Comments
2 Responses to ““Sonic The Hedgehog 4 & Red Dead Redemption Undead Nightmare” by Mr Riddler”
  1. Green_Magix says:

    I'm loving the Undead Nightmare pack mate!

  2. Max says:

    sonic the hedgehog, was the Shit back in the day.

Leave a Reply

  • var sc_project=5964655; var sc_invisible=1; var sc_security="7b0984a3";
    tumblr counter
