“Metal Gear Solid: The Twin Snakes” by Mr Riddler

Riddle Me This A boy and a robot enter a 3 story house. The Boy is 4ft high and the Robot is 5ft high with treads for feet and thin claw like hands. The house gets locked down and has no windows. They both stay inside the house; they can’t leave unless the robot lets them out for the robot is the only one who can unlock the doors. The robot asks the boy for a drink but realizes that the boy has disappeared. The robot searches through all areas of the house that it can but can’t find him. Where is the boy?



He’s on the 2nd or 3rd Floor. Since the robot has treads for feet he cannot climb stairs.

What I Expected:
Metal Gear is a game that I got into withing the last half of the decade. I was introduced to the game by a few old roommates of mine. This was in the early era of the Xbox 360 so trying to play through the Playstation 1 version of Metal Gear 1seemed a bit… difficult. I know. Spoiled kids these days. Graphic don’t make a game. blah blah. I know. I was told that it’s an amazing game but I didn’t really give it a chance. Upon my stroll later in the year, I came across the original Playstation game in a second hand store, bought it, and decided to give it another chance. I was amazed. When sitting down with the game and given the chance to play through it without interruption, the flat-faced models o the characters seemed more realistic than beautifully designed models of the most high end computers. The voice overs were spot on and the story had me pulled in like the first time I had seen Die Hard. As I played on through the series, however, I had the same feeling as I did watching the Die Hard series. Despite the characters being the same and the game play barely changing, something was losing it’s flare. So it’s back to basics. I picked up the remake of Metal Gear Solid 1 for the Gamecube that came out a while ago. It seems that it’s the same as the original with a graphics upgrade. We shall see…

What We Got
Well if I’ve learned anything from Twin Snakes, it’s that not playing a Metal Gear game for years and then jumping right back in, I’m going to suck. This took me the better half of an hour to get back into the stealthy, messing with guards, swing of things. When I did, though, I noticed a few things about the game had been tweaked from the original version. The graphics of course, the M9 Tranquilizer gun has been added if you know where to look, and after I got to the Revolver Ocelot boss battle, I noticed they added INSANE ACTION STUNTS. In the original game version, Snake was a badass, manly man who used stealth, guns and pure muscle to take on a terrorist organization that’s attempting to use a giant robot capable of launching nuclear missiles. In this game it’s apparently all the same except he now has ninja skills. When Ocelot shoots at Snake in this game, he now does a complete back-flip to dodge the Bullet. When a Helicopter shoots a missile at Snake, he steps on the missile and flies out of reach of the Explosion.
What I think adds the most to the game is a cinematic experience. The story remains unchanged. You are still Solid Snake. You arrive in a facility in Alaska, on a mission to rescue an important political figure… or weapons manufacturer… or… something. Later you discover that there’s more going on here that meets the eye, as there always is which leads to an epic, action story of love, ninjas, robots, clones and boxes. This is difficult to explain really. It’s well written, though, and one hell of a ride when you’re going through the game. Honestly, the cutscene are as long and in depth as the original game and every time I play, I zone out… but it’s good. The gameplay, for the most part, remains unchanged. Now, you can shoot out cameras like you could in Metal Gear Solid 2, which is always nice. The guards aren’t as stupid as they once were. Now they can find dead bodies, radio for help on their walkie talkies. That being said the guards can be really stupid. Half the fun of playing Metal Gear Solid is not the actual playing, which can be pretty fun. Instead, it’s the search to find the ridiculous in a world of serious. There can be some really weird things that can be done when playing, hiding in a cardboard box and playing with guards’ lives by scaring and then hiding is just a few. You can also get dogs to pee on you, rush through the game to find the female lead, Meryl, without pants on, etc.
If you’ve read Leader K’s post which, judging from the view yesterday, it looks like you did. There’s one Mech from Metal gear that he has listed and that’s the Metal Gear introduced in this game. . and Metal Gear Rex looks as beautiful as ever as the final boss of this game. I really don’t want to spoil too much of it , but this level is insanely difficult, and insanely fun.

Conclusion
This is robot week so I needed a Robot Game. Unfortunately, this is a game that everyone has probably played. If you haven’t played Metal Gear though, I’d suggest buying this one and playing it. It’s not as low a graphical quality and it’s predecessor so there’s less of a gap to bridge between modern day graphics and the pixelated glory that is PS1. Plus, it delivers the Metal Gear Solid Experience just as well as the original game.

Overall Rating

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=riddler0a-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=B001383L36&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=riddler0a-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=B000FQ2D5E&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr
http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=widgetsamazon-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=B0000A09EN&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr
Feel Free to leave me a comment down below and let me know what you think, if you enjoyed the review or what you want me to review next. I’ll pay attention. After all, you are my only reader.

Comments
5 Responses to ““Metal Gear Solid: The Twin Snakes” by Mr Riddler”
  1. Fred says:

    Probably one of my least favorites in the series tbh – but then again I just hate Raiden.

  2. Eddie Nygma says:

    Actually. Riaden's not in this one. This is before his time.

  3. actually, ANY MGS game is worth buying and playingi loved what they did with the PS3 version – such high quality, but not a lot of gameplay

  4. metal gear rocks, had the diff vers since the nes

Leave a Reply

  • var sc_project=5964655; var sc_invisible=1; var sc_security="7b0984a3";
    tumblr counter
