“Call of Duty Black Ops” by Mr Riddler

Riddle Me This Two men are exchanging war stories. The first man talked of his grandfather that served in World War 1. He was even awarded a sword bearing the inscription “To Captain Smith for Bravery, Daring, and Leader, World War One, Battalion 8” The Second man looked at the first and said, “You don’t Expect anyone to believe that do you?”
Why wouldn’t anyone believe him?





World War 1 was called the Great War originally. It wasn’t until World Ward 2 that it beared the name World War 1.

What I Expected
I’ve never been a big fan of the Call of Duty Franchise. Ok I take that back. I was a fan of Call of Duty 2. After that things just got a little away from me. It’s not that I didn’t like Call of Duty 3 or Modern Warfare 1 it’s just that I didn’t play it. A while back, I did pick up Modern Warfare 2 because I was told that my testicles would be repossessed if I didn’t. That’s where I came upon my conclusion that I didn’t like the modern Call of Duty games. Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 was sub par for me. Mostly because I don’t play it enough to become godly at it, so why would I play it online, and the story was so mediocre that I couldn’t bring myself to finish it so… Why would I play? That being said Call of Duty Black Ops have a new developer, Treyarch, so it’s time I gave this another try. By the time this review gets out you’ll already see that it’s beat out the sales for Modern Warfare 2 by about 1.3 million copies. This game had made $360 million in opening day sales alone which gives the frachise the highest sales for 2 years running. Maybe there’s something to it, or maybe, like the movie viewing public, the American ideals of good have fallen so far that there’s no longer hope for artistic vision in this or any other medium.

What We Got
A surprise! Boy do I love surprises. The game plays through with a framing device that you’re a soldier being tortured to recognize numbers that are playing SAW style on a bunch of monitors in front of you. You have hardly any recollection of the past few years of your life, so naturally, they torture you until you have a flash back. The flashbacks are where the real action begins. You are thrown from important war to important war playing the Black Ops that goes in and does all the hard work that the regular soldiers are incapable of doing. ie: EVERYTHING. The flashbacks range from The Bay of Pigs to the Vietnamese war and back round to American soil. The story for this one surprised me in being rather interesting; something that’s been missing from it’s predecessors. The characters on the other hand are bland and forgettable. It’s hard to even remember my character’s name since I don’t have a Sargent yelling it in my ear ever 15 seconds Example: “RAMIREZ! TAKE OUT THAT TANK! RAMIREZ! RPG INBOUND! RAMIREZ! WASH YOUR HANDS BEFORE DINER!” There was 1 character that I felt a band with in game. During 1 missions you break out of a Russian prison and you have 1 man that aids you in your endeavor. He stays by your side and carries you out until he’s captured. Then naturally he gets tortured before your very eyes. It was a bit of a heart wrenching scene.. Then again, since I don’t remember his name I’m not sure if the bond with him was really that great.
If you liked Modern Warfare then you’ll have no problem adapting to Black Ops because it’s essentially the same game as far as gameplay is concerned. They’ve added in a neat gadget here or there but the controls are exactly as you remember them.

Multiplayer
There’s a reason why I hate playing Call of Duty Anything on Muliplayer. I Suck, and as we all know match making is a huge load. So, every time I get on I’m slaughtered. It’s kind of hard to run this without playing this game with friends… and everyone else that plays this game is an ass. I’m not sure what that says about multiplayer nor the the players. Anyway the multiplayer can be fun when played with the right people.

One last beef I have with multiplayer. In modern warfare 2, the best part of the game for me was when a friend of mine would come by and we could play special co-op missions. What the hell happened that that? I swear that if it’s re-released as DLC I’m going to beat someone for this!

Conclusions
This is the most fun that I’ve had with a Call of Duty Game in a long time. It’s interesting enough of a story to keep me going and when playing online I can at least co-op with others to complete zombie modes. My only issue is that the game, like the characters, and in the end, the story, is going to fade away after a while. It’s new and interesting right now and topping the sales charts but if you have the older Call of Duty it’s all the same. Unless you’re looking to be come a “that guy that stays at home and only plays Black Ops” then Rent this one, but keep this trend, Treyarch, deliver something that will survive the times, and you may earn a Buy It next Year.

Overall Rating

Feel Free to leave me a comment down below and let me know what you think, if you enjoyed the review or what you want me to review next. I’ll pay attention. After all, you are my only reader.

A Safe and Happy Thanksgiving from Riddler, Silence, Leader K, Ragdoll and 59 here at RiddlerReviews!

Comments
7 Responses to ““Call of Duty Black Ops” by Mr Riddler”
  1. chrischaos says:

    its like crack. all i do is play this game

  2. Lemmiwinks says:

    I like what you did with your blog. keep up the good work!

  3. Apps Master says:

    I read so much review about this game… I'll finally buy it I guess…

  4. Mr. Riddler says:

    MY good Apps Master, I did not suggest you buy it. I say rent. Unless you really liked Modern Warfare that is, then yeah buy.

Leave a Reply

  • var sc_project=5964655; var sc_invisible=1; var sc_security="7b0984a3";
    tumblr counter
