“Ink” by Silenced Requiem

What I expected:


I had never heard of this movie before. I just know I thought the movie poster looked kinda interesting so I put it in my instant queue a long time ago for Netflix. I didn’t know anything about it, if anything I thought it just looked weird and always just put off watching it till later. Until a few nights ago. I didn’t expect much from it, I was just bored out of my mind and I’d just finished watching Psych.

What we got:

The world in the movie Ink is split into two planes of existence I guess. We have two opposing sides, the Storytellers, those who people give all the good dreams when they sleep at night, and the Incubus who give the nightmares. Then there’s the drifters, people who have not chosen a side, like Ink. While they seem to exist in the real world they cannot be seen by normal people. It’s explained a little bit later in the movie who and how these Storytellers and Incubus come to be.

The story revolves around a little girl and her father, and of course Ink. Ink has stolen Emma (the little girl) and plans to take her as a sacrifice to the Incubus in order to become one of them. In the real world she is in a coma after a seizure. The Storytellers who look after Emma then try to find a way to save Emma. Eventually they meet the Pathfinder Jacob, and must find a way to physically wake Emma from her coma in the real world to save her. As well as help her father find his own way again.

The way Ink is filmed is interesting, and it was not what I was expecting at all. At first I found it odd, but it began to grow on me. There isn’t a lot of actual speech in the beginning of the film so I didn’t get a real grasp on things until a little ways through. Jacob was a bit unnerving at first but you get used to him. It’s amazing really, there are not a lot of super special effects and shinyness in Ink. You know that Ink’s face is just makeup, you know the Incubus are just a few special effects. You know what things are, but you don’t care. There’s a simplicity about it that’s rather humbling. It really doesn’t look like some big budget film, and yet it’s easily one of the most interesting films I’ve seen in a while. There is not a lot to it when you look at it. Yet it’s beautiful and meaningful all the same.

My two favorite scenes from this movie have got to be the last sequence, and Jacob’s beat. Although the entire movie is made up of moments just as great. Visually it’s beautiful, and just as much so conceptually.

Conclusion:

This is one of the most beautiful movies I’ve seen in a while. I had been talking to Eddie while I was watching this and that’s pretty much what I told him as soon as it ended. It can be a little difficult to understand in the beginning, it’s a movie you have to sit and watch the whole way through to truly understand what’s going on. But in the end, it’s quite extraordinary. As an artist, this movie really got to me just for the ideas in it and the visuals. It’s odd when you first begin watching it, but it grows on you. The music in the film is perfect as well. And yeah, music is really important to me.

http://www.youtube.com/v/ZBGeErufQdY?fs=1&hl=en_US&color1=0x234900&color2=0x4e9e00

Rating:

 

This is an inspiring film, and something I think everyone should see at least once. I found myself loving it more and more as I watched it. This is up there with Mirrormask in my book.

And it is on Instant Netflix.

Comments
One Response to ““Ink” by Silenced Requiem”
  1. ImmaFrog says:

    I'll give it a try.

Leave a Reply

  • var sc_project=5964655; var sc_invisible=1; var sc_security="7b0984a3";
    tumblr counter
