“Tatsunoko vs Capcom” by Mr Riddler

Ok so I’m hard to find a Riddle featureing fighting again so, you get a link for the Five for Fighting Song, The Riddle.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4BtqElO1OX4

What I Expected

I have to say tha tI love fighting games. I love the feeling of pulling off hyper combos and that caveman feel that I get when beating the crap out of. However, I’m very BAD at fighting games. The person who would normally GET the crap beaten out of them is me. Sure it’s still fun to watch the bright flashing colors of the other guy as he beats the living bejeebus out of me but I’d like to get a game that’s fun, still good to look at and something that’s easy for me to master the combos for. This brings me to the vs Capcom Series. probably the most fun I’ve ever had with a fighting game is, the ever popular, Marvel Vs Capcom 2. Mostly because you can be really bad at the game and still feel like you know what you’re doing. Hell, hyper combos are done by pressing 2 buttons. Since X-Men vs Street Fighter Capcom has  continued to pump out the vs Title gain more and more character each round, BUT then they took a turn on 4th and bananas and hopped consoles to the Wii. Tatsunoko vs Capcom is a game of the Anime Production company, Tatsunoko, famous for such titles as Yatterman, Cashern and Gatchaman, versus a new roster of Capcom Heroes and Villians.

What We Got

So this another Wii title. Horray for me, another chance for me to try and hold it together while I muscle my way through this game. Right off the bat, I discovered that the control scheme completely ignores the face that it has Wii motion controls, or Wii controls at all for that matter. The most suggested way to play Tatsunoko vs Capcom is with a Gamecube Controller. Perhaps it’s a step in the right direction for a fighting game, after all it’s what Super Smash Brothers Brawl suggests as well. Honestly the game does look bad aesthetically wise. Capcom, in my opinion at least, has always been good at stylizing their games to fit the platform. In this case in particular, unlike the previous titles in the vs Capcom sereis, Tatsunoko vs Capcom is the first title to be released with 3D graphics. Kind of a leap since this came out BEFORE street fighter 4, but it works rather well. All the anime characters come out in a stylized cell shading looking like they came right out of the anime screen and our favorite Capcom characters from Street Fight, Megaman Legends and the newly added Viewtiful Joe are all back in a cell shaded glory that matches them to their former game selves.

Visuals aside, it’s hard to say that this is what I’m looking for in a fighting game. The roster from the previous titles is toned down quite a bit, I’m assuming because the graphics have been updated to 3D and that’s understandable, but this game took long enough to pump out and when choosing to make it a Wii exclusive that also limits your ability for DLC, of which there is none, because of the hard drive constraints of the Wii. The control scheme, as I mentioned earlier, consists of 4 buttons really, light punch, heavy punch, light kick, heavy kick. It’s not such a bad scheme, but it is a down grade from the more commonly accepted 3 button system. Combos are done the old fashioned way, normally with a quarter circle forward, quarter circle forward, both punches. switching and calling in partners drove me crazy. I had to change my controller to get all attack buttons on one side and the switch button on the other because in the original scheme, the B button on the game cube controller is to call your partner for back up, meaning he’ll just onto the screen do a jig and then jump off. To switch you hold back and then press this button. However, in a major scrap, if I’m trying to button mash like a skilless buffoon, like I usually do, it’s off putting to suddenly call someone else in at random. Messes with my mojo so to speak.

Conclusion

Tasunoko was actually a big disappointment for me. Obviously I hadn’t played the game until a good amount of that AFTER it had been released but it actually got me hyped up quite a bit. Viewtiful Joe was one of my favorite games and as I’d mentioned before I love marvel vs Capcom 2. But Tatsunoko vs Capcom seems to have lost alot of it’s flare from the previous games. The fighting moves and everything still look good, but it’s just not the same. Maybe it’s the 3D jump or maybe it’s becuase I’m so god damn biased about the Wii.

Overall Rating

Rent it Because there are other better games you shoul dbe wasting your money on. Case in point…

 

 

 

 

Feel Free to leave me a comment down below and let me know what you think, if you enjoyed the review or what you want me to review next. I’ll pay attention. After all, you are my only reader.

Leave a Reply

  • var sc_project=5964655; var sc_invisible=1; var sc_security="7b0984a3";
    tumblr counter
